IECA Canadian Derivatives Trade Reporting Designation and Amending Agreement

Please enter the information below to gain access to this content. If you are a current member, please log in for instant access.
IECA takes our data responsibilities very seriously and we want you to have confidence in how we handle your personal data. The data provided will only be used by IECA to conduct the necessary business of the association in serving you. Please contact IECA via if you wish to have your information corrected or deleted. Your contact information is being collected for the purpose of being able to communicate with you. Other data collected is being used to help customize your experience within our organization.

The IECA Canadian Derivatives Regulatory Working Group, chaired by Priscilla Bunke of Dentons Canada, is pleased to announce the IECA Canadian Derivatives Trade Reporting Designation and Amending Agreement. 

Section 25(1)(d) of Trade Reporting Rules and proposed multilateral instrument in certain Canadian provinces, in Quebec - Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) Regulation 91-507 ; in Manitoba- the Manitoba Securities Commission’s  (MSC) Rule 91-507 and in Alberta, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Saskatchewan, the proposed Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) multilateral instrument 96-101 respectively provide that “if none of paragraphs (a) to (c) apply to the transaction and the counterparties have, at the time the transaction occurs, agreed in writing that one of them will be the reporting counterparty, the counterparty determined to be the reporting counterparty under the terms of that agreement”…[Emphasis added]

Pursuant to this subsection, the IECA CLEG Canadian Derivatives Drafting sub-working group has prepared the IECA Canadian Derivatives Trade Reporting Designation and amending agreement for usage by market participants to determine who the reporting counterparty to a derivative transaction would be in certain circumstances as provided in the subsection.

The people who deserve special thanks are Kari Olesen; Phil Lookadoo; Zoltan Nagy-Kovacs and Priscilla Bunke, Chair of the IECA CLEG Canadian Working Group. Other members of the drafting team are Kara Levis and Jerry Jeske.